Initiative pour l’éducation des adultes

Profil de pays: Autriche

Population

8 495 000 (2013)

Langue officielle

allemand

Langues autochtones reconnues

croate, slovène, hongrois

Dépenses publiques totales d’éducation en % du PIB

5,8 (2011)

Taux d’alphabétisme des adultes (16 – 65 ans)

Résultats des tests PIAAC – pourcentage des notes des adultes pour chaque niveau d'alphabétisme (le Niveau 1 est le plus bas, le Niveau 5 le plus élevé) :

Niveau 1 : 15,3 %
Niveau 2 : 37,1 %
Niveau 3 : 37,3 %
Niveau 4 ou 5 : 8,5 %

Sources statistiques

Présentation générale du programme

Titre du programmeInitiative pour l’éducation des adultes
Organisation chargée de la mise en œuvreMinistère fédéral de l’Éducation et de la femme, en collaboration avec les Länder.
Langues d’enseignementPrincipalement l'allemand, même si l'anglais et d'autres langues sont utilisés au cycle moyen et pour l'alphabétisation de base.
Partenaires de financementMinistère fédéral de l’Éducation et de la femme, Länder et Fonds social européen (FSE).
PartenairesInstitutions autrichiennes d'éducation des adultes agréées pour les deux volets éducatifs du programme.
Coûts annuels du programme25 000 000 €
Date de création2012

Contexte national

L’Autriche est un pays non côtier très montagneux situé au cœur de l’Europe. Membre de l’Union européenne, elle est formée de neuf Länder jouissant d’une certaine autonomie vis-à-vis de Vienne, la capitale, notamment en matière d’éducation. Douzième puissance économique mondiale, elle consacre 5,6 pour cent de son produit intérieur brut à l’éducation. Le pays a une longue histoire d’éducation formelle qui remonte au dix-huitième siècle, avec l’adoption de l’enseignement primaire obligatoire pour les garçons et filles de 6 à 12 ans.

En tant que membre de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), l’Autriche jouit depuis longtemps d’un système d’enseignement primaire et secondaire universel. Elle fait partie des soixante-dix-huit pays qui ont des chances d’inscrire au moins 70 pour cent des enfants au préscolaire en 2015. Néanmoins, si l’Autriche fait mieux que la plupart des pays de l’OCDE en numératie, elle accuse un retard par rapport aux autres pays développés en termes de niveau d’alphabétisme moyen des adultes (OCDE, 2013). En effet, ses notes pour les adultes de 16 à 65 ans sont nettement inférieures à la moyenne. Il s’y ajoute le faible niveau d’alphabétisme des citoyens de 16 à 24 ans.

Organisation chargée de la mise en œuvre

L’Initiative pour l’éducation des adultes est le fruit d’une collaboration entre le ministère fédéral de l’Éducation et de la femme et les neuf Länder. C’est un programme qui place l’allocation de subventions à des projets externes répondant à ses exigences de qualité au cœur de son action. De ce fait, l’Initiative fait office d’organisation de coordination des institutions nationales d’éducation. Son objectif est de permettre aux adultes dépourvus de compétences de base ou qui n’ont pas achevé le cycle moyen de poursuivre et d’achever leurs études. Le projet se distingue par deux caractéristiques principales. Premièrement, il exige l’application de normes de qualité homogènes pour tous ses cours en Autriche. Deuxièmement, tous les cours sont gratuits grâce au financement national. Depuis début 2015, le programme est cofinancé par le Fonds social européen (FSE).

L’Initiative a été lancée en réponse au nombre important de personnes sous-qualifiées en Autriche. Même si le niveau de qualifications s’améliore peu à peu depuis quelques décennies, les résultats de l’enquête PEICA indiquent que plus de 17 pour cent des adultes – près d’un million de citoyens – ont un faible niveau d’alphabétisme. D’autres études révèlent que près de 250.000 Autrichiens ont un niveau insuffisant en lecture, écriture, calcul et informatique pour trouver un emploi ou participer à la vie courante. D’après une analyse de l’OCDE sur l’abandon scolaire, chaque année quelque 3.700 adolescents autrichiens (près de 4 pour cent) achèvent leur scolarité obligatoire sans compétences ni qualifications suffisantes. On estime à 220.000 personnes le groupe cible pouvant bénéficier d’une seconde chance d’enseignement moyen. Ce chiffre inclut à la fois les germanophones d’origine et ceux pour lesquels l’allemand est la deuxième langue.

Présentation du programme

L’Initiative pour l’éducation des adultes a été lancée au nom du gouvernement entre 2008 et 2013 après près de trois ans de négociations et de conception. Les représentants du ministère et des neuf Länder ont participé au processus, aux côtés d’experts de l’éducation des adultes. Ils ont conclu un accord officiel sur le financement, les objectifs du projet, les normes de qualité, la structure et les procédures en 2011. La première phase du programme s’est déroulée de janvier 2012 à décembre 2014. La deuxième, de 2015 à 2017, a été renforcée par l’appui du FSE.

Conception de l’Initiative autrichienne pour l’éducation des adultes

En termes de contenu, l’Initiative pour l’éducation des adultes se compose de deux volets principaux :

Compétences de base

Ce volet du programme cible les personnes qui n’ont pas eu la chance d’acquérir des compétences de base, indépendamment de leur langue, origine ou statut social. Il a pour normes de qualité principales la personnalisation des cours et leur adaptation aux besoins des adultes. L’Initiative pour l’éducation des adultes a élaboré un cadre directeur pour la formation de base des adultes, qui est le premier du genre en Autriche.

L’Initiative apporte son appui financier aux projets de formation de base remplissant certains critères, notamment renforcer :

Les deux exemples de programmes suivants, financés par l’Initiative, illustrent son orientation prioritaire.

1. Volkshochschule (VHS) Tirol (Centre d’éducation des adultes, Tyrol) : Basisbildung (Programme de formation de base)

Ce centre politiquement indépendant, créé peu après la Deuxième guerre mondiale en 1945, œuvre pour le respect des droits de l’homme et la démocratie à travers l’éducation des adultes. Il s’efforce d’offrir des opportunités d’éducation aux apprenants, indépendamment de leur âge, origine, sexe ou conditions sociales. Pour atteindre cet objectif, il ajuste constamment son offre aux exigences et besoins des groupes cibles. De ce fait, le curriculum du programme Compétences de base est conçu pour refléter le quotidien des apprenants et s’efforce de renforcer leurs chances de participer pleinement à la vie courante.

Axé sur les compétences, ce programme comprend trois niveaux de lecture, écriture et numératie. Les apprenants sont orientés vers le niveau approprié après évaluation de leurs connaissances initiales lors d’un entretien.

  1. Le premier niveau vise à doter les débutants de compétences de base, comme écrire et épeler leur nom, lire des mots courts et faire de l’arithmétique basée sur les transactions monétaires.
  2. Le deuxième niveau vise les apprenants ayant déjà quelques aptitudes linguistiques. Les participants apprennent à lire et comprendre le contenu de textes courts et à les copier. Ils apprennent également à lire et utiliser les cartes et à faire des calculs se rapportant aux situations de la vie courante.
  3. Le troisième niveau est destiné à ceux qui savent déjà lire correctement et écrire des textes, mais qui ont des lacunes en grammaire et en orthographe allemandes. Les participants apprennent à surmonter ces obstacles. Ce niveau enseigne aussi des compétences de la vie professionnelle, telles que la rédaction de rapports de situation ou le calcul des temps de voyage et de travail.

En général, chaque groupe compte six apprenants – ce qui donne au formateur la latitude de répondre à leurs besoins spécifiques.

Les supports utilisés sont divers et varient selon le niveau. On encourage les apprenants à utiliser des ordinateurs pour écrire les textes, à mémoriser de nouveaux mots à l’aide des lexiques ou à écouter des podcasts (comme ceux de la chaîne de radio culturelle autrichienne Ö1) pour améliorer leur compréhension de la langue. En outre, les participants apprennent à lire des articles de journaux courts et à parler du contenu. L’apprentissage par des jeux de société comme le Scrabble (lecture et orthographe) et le Tangram (calcul) est aussi encouragé.

Les formateurs se rencontrent deux fois par semaine pour échanger des idées et partager leurs impressions. L’échange est également organisé sur la plateforme en ligne Moodle.

La viabilité financière du programme est garantie jusqu’en 2017. Le premier cycle (2012–2014) de formation de base à VHS Tirol a été entièrement financé par l’Initiative pour l’éducation des adultes. Le suivi et évaluation permanent est effectué conformément aux exigences de l’institution de financement.

2. ISOP – Projets sociaux innovants (Styrie) : Basisbildung für Erwachsene (Programme de formation de base des adultes)

Cette organisation à but non lucratif politiquement indépendante a été fondée en 1987. Elle cherche à améliorer les conditions du marché du travail et la situation sociale des groupes marginalisés en Autriche. L’ISOP intervient principalement dans le Land de Styrie, situé dans le sud-est du pays. Du fait de sa position, le Land de Styrie est un point de convergence des migrants d’Europe de l’Est et des Balkans. De ce fait, un des principaux objectifs de l’ISOP est de promouvoir l’égalité des chances à travers une approche fondée sur les droits humains des réfugiés, des migrants et des chômeurs (de longue durée). L’organisation applique des principes axés sur les compétences et offre des formations de base dans les domaines de l’éducation, de la culture, du travail social et de la préparation pour le marché de l’emploi. Dans le domaine de l’éducation, elle propose des formations et programmes très variés, allant du soutien linguistique initial aux cours destinés à renforcer l’éducation interculturelle dans les jardins d’enfants et les écoles.

La formation de base se situe entre le niveau personnel de connaissances, d’une part, et les exigences et défis de la société, d’autre part. Le programme adopte la même approche. Il apporte un soutien personnalisé aux apprenants et opère sur une base individuelle, tournée vers le marché de l’emploi et le travail. Il est gratuit pour les adultes qui souhaitent réactualiser ou améliorer leurs connaissances et compétences en lecture, écriture, mathématique et informatique. Les cours privilégient les objectifs du participant. Le contenu et le rythme d’apprentissage sont définis avec l’apprenant et adaptés à ses besoins personnels.

Chaque participant est convié à un entretien privé avec un formateur avant le début de la formation de base. A cette occasion, le formateur évalue son niveau et ses besoins. Par la suite, le participant est intégré à un groupe d’apprentissage de six personnes au maximum et s’efforce d’atteindre ses objectifs personnels.

Les cours ont lieu deux fois par semaine et durent deux heures et demie. Le participant peut commencer et arrêter la formation à n’importe quel stade s’il estime avoir atteint ses objectifs d’apprentissage. Il peut suivre la formation pendant trois à douze mois.

Le contenu de la formation est conçu pour améliorer le quotidien de chaque participant et porte sur quatre compétences de base : lecture, écriture, mathématique et informatique. Pour la lecture, les supports incluent les recettes de cuisine, les journaux, les e-mails, les livres, etc. Pour l’écriture, le contenu est axé sur l’usage courant : demande d’emploi, formulaires, rédaction de notes ou listes d’achats. L’orthographe et la grammaire allemandes sont également enseignées. Pour le calcul et la numératie, le participant apprend les quatre opérations arithmétiques de base. Il apprend aussi les techniques permettant d’améliorer ses aptitudes en calcul mental. Le renforcement des compétences en informatique constitue le quatrième axe. Par exemple, le participant apprend à tenir une caisse enregistreuse ou un distributeur de tickets et à utiliser Word et Excel.

Enseignement moyen

Le volet Enseignement moyen cible les personnes qui n’ont pas achevé ce niveau d’études. Le curriculum porte spécialement sur l’éducation obligatoire pour les adultes. L’entretien préliminaire, la formation dans diverses matières et le conseil pour la transition vers l’emploi ou la poursuite des études constituent autant d’éléments importants du programme.

Le curriculum couvre les matières suivantes :

Buts et objectifs

L’Initiative pour l’éducation des adultes se fixe les objectifs globaux suivants :

Critères de qualité pour le financement

Les institutions autrichiennes désireuses de prendre part à l’Initiative doivent déposer une demande d’agrément et prouver qu’elles remplissent les trois critères de qualité suivants : elles doivent (1) remplir les critères généraux d’un établissement éducatif ; (2) déposer une présentation conceptuelle de leur programme ; et (3) prouver que leurs formateurs et conseillers sont qualifiés, conformément aux directives de l’Initiative. Les critères de qualité incluent aussi l’élaboration d’une approche pédagogique axée sur les compétences, adaptée aux besoins spécifiques du groupe cible. De plus, les prestataires sont invités à fournir conseils, encadrement et orientation professionnels tout au long de la formation. Les coûts supplémentaires du programme doivent être divulgués et clairement expliqués à chaque prestataire.

Processus de gestion et de financement

Un groupe d’évaluation, formé de six experts en éducation des adultes, examine les demandes pour vérifier que les candidats remplissent les critères de qualité de l’Initiative. En cas d’agrément, l’institution etenue rpeut alors déposer une demande de financement. L’approbation dépend de l’équilibre entre les différents cours des deux volets du programme et les différents groupes cibles dans chaque région. Un projet est approuvé lorsqu’il remplit les critères et correspond aux besoins des participants locaux.

Le processus d’agrément vu sous l’angle d’un prestataire potentiel

Les institutions prenant part au programme de l’Initiative s’engagent à se soumettre à un suivi et évaluation continu. Un bureau de suivi supervise le processus et les résultats. De cette façon, l’Initiative espère mieux comprendre les problèmes et possibilités spécifiques de l’éducation des adultes.

Le bureau de l’Initiative à Vienne sert de plateforme de communication et soutient les organisation partenaires. Un comité de pilotage, composé de représentants des Länder et du ministère et de partenaires sociaux, supervise la stratégie et la conception du projet.

Suivi et évaluation

Les institutions prenant part au programme de l’Initiative s’engagent à se soumettre à un suivi et évaluation continu. Un bureau de suivi supervise le processus et les résultats, qui sont publiés périodiquement sous forme de rapports.

Suite au premier cycle de programme de l’Initiative, l’Institut pour la supervision et l’étude du marché de l’emploi de la Styrie (Institut für Arbeitsmarktbetreuung und Arbeitsmarktforschung) a évalué le programme et ses projets sur la base de sept rubriques principales :

La recherche connexe s’est appuyée sur des méthodologies diverses. Les entretiens sur la qualité, menés par des spécialistes du programme, servent de base pour une évaluation complémentaire. Par la suite, des enquêtes en ligne auprès des formateurs et des consultants, mais aussi des entretiens exploratoires avec les responsables des cours ont été menés. En outre, les entretiens avec les anciens participants ont été compilés. L’objectif de ces entretiens est d’analyser les projets en termes d’approche, d’intensité et de durée et d’évaluer la prestation de services sociaux et d’encadrement.

Impact et défis

L’analyse de l’évaluation des participants a donné une image nettement positive. Sur une échelle de cinq (1 étant très bon, et 5 insatisfaisant), 83 pour cent des anciens participants ont jugé le cours « très bon ». La majorité affirme avoir gagné en assurance et être motivés à poursuivre les études.

Les prestataires de services d’éducation ont été généralement satisfaits du premier cycle de l’Initiative. Ils ont salué la grande diversité conceptuelle du cours, autant pour le volet Compétences de base que pour le volet Enseignement moyen. Ils ont également loué la collaboration et les possibilités de réseautage créées par le programme.

D’après le rapport de suivi, 22.905 participants ont pris part aux deux volets du programme durant le premier cycle, dépassant ainsi les attentes de l’Initiative. Pour le volet Compétences de base, 70 pour cent des participants étaient des migrants, et 64 pour cent des femmes. Cela peut être dû au fait que certains cours, tels que Mama lernt Deutsch (Maman apprend l’allemand) ou Frauen College (Collège des femmes), ciblent uniquement les femmes. Pour le volet Enseignement moyen, 60 pour cent des participants étaient des migrants, et 43 pour cent des femmes.

Leçons apprises

La rétention des participants fait partie des principaux défis de l’Initiative. D’après le rapport de suivi du premier cycle, 17,4 pour cent des participants n’ont pas achevé le volet Compétences de base. Concernant le volet Enseignement moyen, 15,9 pour cent ont abandonné le programme avant terme. Pour réduire ces chiffres, le conseil de suivi propose de mieux exploiter les résultats des dernières enquêtes PEICA afin de mieux différencier les groupes cibles.

Néanmoins, la majorité de ces parties prenantes juge l’Initiative pour l’éducation des adultes fortement enrichissante pour le paysage éducatif autrichien, en particulier en termes de renforcement de l’accès des adultes marginalisés et défavorisés à l’éducation.

Pérennité

Le second cycle de l’Initiative pour l’éducation des adultes a démarré début 2015. Il prend en compte les enseignements tirés de l’évaluation du premier cycle. En termes de viabilité financière, les prestataires retenus par le programme peuvent désormais faire appel aux ressources du FSE en plus de celles du gouvernement central et des neuf Länder. En juillet 2015, plus de 100 offres d’apprentissage avaient déjà été approuvées pour le programme 2015-2017.

Sources

Site Web de Volkshochschule Tirol : http://www.vhs-tirol.at.

Site Web de l’ISOP - Projets sociaux innovants : http://www.isop.at.

Contact

Mag. Maria Groß
Head of Office
Universitätsstraße 5, 1010
Vienna
Austria
Tél : +43 1 523 87 65 - 614
Fax : +43 1 523 87 65 - 20
maria.gross@initiative-erwachsenenbildung.at
http://www.initiative-erwachsenenbildung.at

Initiative for Adult Education

Country Profile: Austria

Population

8,495,000 (2013)

Official language

German

Other spoken languages

Croatian, Slovene and Hungarian

Total expenditure on education as % of GDP

5.8 (2011)

Adult literacy rate (16 – 65 years)

PIAAC test results: percentage of adults scoring at each proficiency level in literacy (level 1 represents the lowest level of proficiency, level 5 the highest):

Level 1 or below: 15.3%
Level 2: 37.1%
Level 3: 37.3%
Level 4 or 5: 8.5%

Statistical sources

Programme Overview

Programme TitleInitiative for Adult Education
Implementing OrganizationFederal Ministry of Education and Women’s Affairs in cooperation with Austrian federal states.
Language of InstructionMainly German, though English and other languages are used at lower secondary level, and in basic-skills literacy training.
FundingFederal Ministry of Education and Women’s Affairs, Austrian federal states and the European Social Fund (ESF).
Programme PartnersAustrian adult education institutions which offer accredited learning in the two programme areas.
Annual Programme Costs€25,000,000
Date of Inception2012

Country Context

Austria is a predominantly mountainous, land-locked country in the heart of Europe. A European Union member state, it is divided into nine federal states, which enjoy autonomy from the capital, Vienna, in certain matters, including educational issues. Austria is the twelfth richest country in the world and spends 5.6 per cent of its Gross Domestic Product on education. The country has a long history of formal schooling, dating back to the eighteenth century when mandatory primary school education was introduced for boys and girls aged between 6 and 12 years.

As a member of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), Austria has a long-established system of universal primary and secondary education. It is one of seventy-eight countries likely to achieve at least 70 per cent pre-primary enrolment by 2015. Nevertheless, while Austria performs better than most OECD countries in numeracy, it is falling behind other developed countries when it comes to average literacy proficiency among adults (OECD, 2013). Austria is significantly below average in mean literacy proficiency scores for adults aged between 16 and 65, and also scores poorly in literacy proficiency levels for 16 to 24 year-olds.

The Implementing Organization

The Initiative for Adult Education arose from cooperation between the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education and Women’s Affairs and the nine Austrian federal states. Central to the programme’s work is the provision of subsidies for external programmes which fit its quality requirements. In this regard, the initiative acts as an umbrella organisation for national education institutions. Its objective is to enable adults who lack basic skills or who never graduated from lower secondary school to continue and complete their education. The project has two core characteristics. First, it requires the implementation of consistent quality guidelines for courses in all parts of Austria. Second, all courses are free of charge as a result of national funding. Since the beginning of 2015, the programme has been co-financed by the European Social Fund (ESF).

The initiative was set up in response to the significant number of low-skilled people in Austria. Although the level of qualifications has been rising gradually over the last decades, the results of the PIAAC survey of adult skills indicate that more than 17 per cent of adult citizens – nearly one million people – have poor literacy skills. Further studies show that there are nearly 250,000 people in Austria whose skills in reading, writing, calculation and the use of ICTs are not sufficient for their employment or their participation in everyday life. According to an OECD analysis of school dropout, every year some 3,700 Austrian teenagers (nearly 4 per cent) finish their compulsory education without acquiring sufficient competencies and qualifications. It is estimated that the target group for second-chance education at lower secondary level amounts to 220,000 people. This number include people who speak German as their first language as well as those for whom it is a second language.

Programme Overview

The Initiative for Adult Education was established on behalf of the government between2008 and 2013 after nearly three years of negotiations and concept development. Representatives of the ministry and the nine Austrian federal states participated in the process, alongside adult education experts. They reached official agreement with regard to funding, project objectives, quality standards, structure and procedures in 2011. The first programme period ran from January 2012 to December 2014. The second, from 2015 to 2017, has been strengthened by the support of the ESF.

Development of the Austrian Initiative for Adult Education

Development of the Austrian Initiative for Adult Education

In terms of content, the Initiative for Adult Education comprises two main programme areas:

Basic skills courses

The basic skills area of the programme targets people who have not had the opportunity to gain these skills, irrespective of language, birth or social status. The main quality guidelines for this programme area refer to the individualization of courses and adaptation to the needs of adults. The Initiative for Adult Education has developed a guiding framework for adults' basic skills training, the first of its kind in Austria.

The initiative offers financial support to basic skills projects which fit certain criteria. Critically, projects must strengthen:

The following two examples of funded basic skills programmes illustrate the focus of the initiative.

1. Volkshochschule (VHS) Tirol (Adult Education Centre, Tyrol): Basisbildung (Basic Skills Programme)

This politically independent centre was established shortly after World War II in 1945 and is devoted to human rights implementation and democracy through adult education. It strives to provide educational opportunities for learners, irrespective of age, origin, gender or social circumstances. In order to achieve this aim, the offer is continuously adjusted to meet the demands and needs of target groups. The curriculum of the Basic Skills Programme is, therefore, intended to reflect the day-to-day lives of learners and strives to increase the chances of learners to fully participate in everyday life.

The course is competence-oriented and comprises three levels of reading, writing and numeracy. Learners are assigned to the appropriate course based on their prior knowledge, which is evaluated by interview.

  1. The first level of the course aims to equip beginning students with basic competences such as how to write and spell their own name, read short phonemic words and work with money.
  2. The second level is directed towards learners with limited prior language knowledge. Course participants learn to read and understand the content of short texts and to write them down. They also learn how to read and use maps and to make calculations associated with the everyday-life situations.
  3. The third level is designed for people who can already read in a comprehensive manner and are able to write texts, but who still have difficulties with the grammar and orthography of the German language. Participants learn to overcome these obstacles. Working life skills, such as writing progress reports or calculating driving and working times, are also taught at this level.

Generally, each course group consists of six learners, which gives trainers large scope for action in responding to the specific demands of participants.

The material used in the classes is diverse and depends very much on the course level. Learners are encouraged to use computers for writing texts, to memorize new words through word indexes or to listen to podcasts (such as those produced by the Austrian cultural radio station, Ö1) in order to strengthen language comprehension. Furthermore, participants learn to read short newspaper articles and to talk about the content. Learning through language games such as Scrabble (for reading and spelling) and Tangram (for calculating) is also emphasized in the courses.

The trainers meet two times a week to exchange ideas and to share impressions with colleagues. Exchange is further organized via the online platform Moodle.

Programme sustainability is financially guaranteed until 2017. Basic skills courses at VHS Tirol were also fully funded by the Initiative for Adult Education during their first cycle (2012–2014). Continuous monitoring and evaluation is provided in accordance with the requirements of the funding institution.

2. ISOP – Innovative Social Projects (Styria): Basisbildung für Erwachsene (Basic Skills Programme for Adults)

This politically independent non-profit organization was founded in 1987. It works to enhance labour market conditions as well as societal conditions for marginalized groups in Austria. ISOP operates mainly in the federal state of Styria, located in the south-eastern part of Austria. Because of its location, Styria is traditionally a focal point for migrants from Eastern Europe and the Balkans. Consequently, one of ISOP’s main aims is to work towards equal opportunities through a human rights based approach for refugees, migrants and (long-time) unemployed people. The organization follows competence-oriented principles and offers basic skills courses among various other courses in the field of education, culture, social work and labour market preparation. In the field of education, the organisation provides a huge variety of training and programmes, ranging from early linguistic support to courses aimed at strengthening intercultural education in kindergartens and schools.

Basic skills education operates between the poles of individual standards of knowledge, on the one hand, and society’s demands and challenges, on the other. This is also the approach the programme is pursuing. It offers personalized support for learners and works on a personal, labour market- and job-oriented basis. It is free of charge to adults who want to refresh or improve their knowledge and competences in the fields of reading, writing, mathematics, and computer know-how. Lessons focus on participants' objectives; learning contents, as well as study speed, are defined in conjunction with the participant and are adjusted to the individual needs of each student.

Each participant is encouraged to have a private consultation with a trainer prior to the start of the basic skills course. During that meeting, the participant’s learning status and needs are evaluated. Afterwards, participants are integrated into a learning group of six people, at most, and individually work on achieving their objectives.

The course takes place twice a week and lasts two and half hours. Participants can enter and leave the course whenever they want to, depending on the achievement of their learning needs. Participants can stay on the course from three months up to twelve.

Course content is tailored to enhance each participant’s everyday life and focuses on the four areas of basic skills: reading, writing, mathematics, and computer knowledge. In the area of reading, this includes working with recipes, newspapers, emails, books, etc. In the field of writing, the focus is on everyday usability, e.g. drafting a job application, handling forms, formulating notes or writing shopping lists. German orthography and grammar is also taught. In the area of calculating and numeracy, the four basic arithmetical operations are studied. Course participants are also taught techniques to increase their mental calculation abilities. The basic skills course’s fourth focus is on strengthening ICT skills. This, for example, includes learning how to handle a cash register or a ticket machine. Participants also learn how to work with Word and Excel.

Lower secondary education

The lower-secondary programme area targets people who have not completed this level of education. The curriculum focuses especially on compulsory education for adults. A pre-programme interview, training in various subjects, and counselling on the transition into work or further education, are all important parts of this programme.

The curriculum covers the following subjects:

Aims and Objectives

The overall aims of the Initiative for Adult Education are:

Quality Criteria for Funding

Austrian institutions that wish to take part in the initiative have to apply for accreditation and provide evidence on the following three quality criteria: (1) they must fulfil the general requirements of an educational establishment; (2) they must submit an appropriate conceptual overview of their programme; and (3) they must prove that their trainers and counsellors are qualified, in accordance with the initiative’s guidelines. Quality criteria include the elaboration of a competence-oriented pedagogical approach, tailored to the specific needs of the target group. In addition, providers are encouraged to offer professional counselling, coaching and guidance throughout the course. Further programme cost structures have to be disclosed and explained comprehensively by the provider.

Management and Funding Process

An accreditation group, comprising six adult education experts, surveys the applications to assess the degree to which they meet the initiative’s quality guidelines. In the case of successful accreditation, the institution can then apply for funding. Approval depends on the balance between the various courses in the different programme areas, and the different target groups in the particular region. Approval is granted if the guidelines are met and the programme fits the needs of participants in the region.

The Accreditation process from the perspective of a potential programme provider

The Accreditation process from the perspective of a potential programme provider

Institutions taking part in the initiative's programme commit themselves to continuous monitoring and evaluation. A monitoring board supervises the process and the results. In this way, the initiative expects to gain further knowledge about the specific problems and possibilities of adult education.

The initiative’s Vienna office serves as a communication platform and supports the partner organizations. A steering committee consisting of state and ministry representatives, as well as social partners, supervise the project’s strategy and design.

Evaluation and Monitoring

Institutions taking part in the initiative's programme commit themselves to continuous monitoring and evaluation. A monitoring board supervises the process, as well as the results, which are published regularly in monitoring reports.

Following the initiative’s first programme cycle, the Institute for Labour Market Supervision and Research in Styria (Institut für Arbeitsmarktbetreuung und Arbeitsmarktforschung) conducted an evaluation of the programme and its projects according to seven main themes:

Accompanying research has been carried out using various methodologies. Qualitative expert interviews with programme specialists have been conducted and formed the basis for further evaluation. Subsequently, online surveys of programme trainers and consultants and explorative interviews with course leaders were carried out. Additionally, interviews with former course participants were gathered. The intention of these interviews was to analyse projects in terms of their approach, intensity and duration, and to assess the provision of social consulting and coaching.

Impact and Challenges

Analysis of participant evaluation showed an overwhelmingly positive picture. On a five-grade scale (with 1 being very good and 5 being unsatisfactory), 83 per cent of former course participants assessed their course as ‘very good’. The majority of participants reported feeling more self-confident and motivated to further their education.

Education providers were generally satisfied with the first cycle of the initiative. They highlighted the great variety of course design, both in basic skills and secondary education. The cooperation and networking possibilities created by the programme were also valued by providers.

According to the monitoring report, 22,905 participants took part in the two programme areas during the first cycle, exceeding the initiative’s expectations. In the basic-skills programme area, 70 per cent of participants were migrants and 64 per cent were women. This might be due to the fact that some courses target only women, e.g. Mama lernt Deutsch (Mommy learns German) or Frauen College (Women’s College). In the lower-secondary programme area, 60 per cent of participants were migrants and 43 per cent were women.

Lessons Learned

Retention of course participants is one of the initiative’s main concerns. According to the monitoring report for the first cycle, 17.4 per cent of participants did not finish the basic skills course. In terms of lower secondary education completion, 15.9 per cent left the programme early. To reduce these numbers, the monitoring council proposes to make greater use of recent PIAAC findings in order to better differentiate the target groups.

Nevertheless, the Initiative for Adult Education is perceived by the majority of those people as strongly enriching the Austrian educational landscape, especially in terms of providing greater educational access to marginalized and disadvantaged adults

Sustainability

The second cycle of the Initiative for Adult Education began in early 2015. It has taken into account the insights gained from the evaluation of the first cycle. In terms of financial sustainability, programme providers can now make use of resources provided by the European Social Fund (ESF), in addition to resources from central government and its nine federal states. As of July 2015, more than 100 learning offers had already been approved for the 2015–2017programme.

Sources

Website for Volkshochschule Tirol: www.vhs-tirol.at.

Website for ISOP - Innovative Social Projects: www.isop.at.

Contact

Mag. Maria Groß
Head of Office
Universitätsstraße 5, 1010
Vienna
Austria
Telefon: +43 1 523 87 65 - 614
Fax: +43 1 523 87 65 - 20
maria.gross@initiative-erwachsenenbildung.at
www.initiative-erwachsenenbildung.at

Last update: 4 December 2015