Alphabétiser les personnes privées de liberté

Profil de pays: Chili

Population

17 620 000 (2012)

Pauvreté (Population vivant avec moins de 1.25 dollar par jour, %)

2 (2000 – 2007)

Dépenses publiques totales d’éducation en % du PNB

4,6 (2012)

Accès à l'enseignement primaire - Taux net d'admission (TNA)

92 % (2013)

Taux d’alphabétisme total des jeunes (15 – 24 ans)

Hommes: 98,9%
Femmes: 98,9%
Total: 98,9%
(2009)

Taux d’alphabétisme des adultes (15 ans et plus)

Hommes : 98,6 %
Femmes : 98,5 %
Total : 98,6 %
(2009)

Langue officielle

espagnol

Langues reconnues

mapuche, quechua, rapanui, huiliche, entre autres

Sources

Présentation générale du programme

Titre du programmeAlphabétiser les personnes privées de liberté
Organisation chargée de la mise en œuvreÉcole Juan Luis Vives
Langues d’enseignementEspagnol
Partenaires de financementGouvernement
Coûts annuels du programme53.446 dollars (parité CLP-USD de 2014). Coût annuel par apprenant : 85 dollars
Date de création1999

Contexte national

Le Chili a fait des progrès remarquables en matière de développement au cours des deux dernières décennies et demie et réussi sa transition démocratique. Après vingt ans de dictature militaire, le pays figure aujourd'hui parmi les plus stables et dynamiques d'Amérique latine, un succès récompensé par son adhésion à l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) en 2010 et son classement au rang de pays à revenu élevé par la Banque mondiale en 2013. La démocratie naissante et le développement économique soutenu ont favorisé un intérêt et des investissements accrus pour des services sociaux autrefois sous-financés, comme l'éducation. En 2009, le Chili a voté une loi sur l'éducation, qui reconnaît non seulement le droit à l'éducation mais aussi l'apprentissage acquis en dehors du système éducatif ou du lieu de travail (UIL, 2015). La législation nationale, qui adopte une perspective d'apprentissage tout au long de la vie, intègre les questions d'alphabétisation et d'éducation des adultes.

Le pourcentage du PIB du Chili consacré aux dépenses publiques d'éducation est passé de 3 % en 2006 à 4,6 % en 2012. Grâce à cette augmentation, plusieurs programmes d'amélioration de la qualité et de l'équité dans le secteur de l'éducation ont été lancés, avec un accent particulier sur l'éducation formelle. Malgré ces progrès, le Chili a encore des difficultés à assurer la qualité et à réaliser l'équité à tous les niveaux de son système éducatif, mais aussi à aligner les compétences sur les besoins du marché du travail. Cependant, le pays a su réduire le nombre d'adultes analphabètes de 497.000 à 192.000 entre 2002 et 2009, en partie grâce aux programmes d'alphabétisation des adultes (UIS, 2015). L'augmentation des taux d'inscription et d'achèvement constitue un des grands défis en matière d'éducation des adultes, en particulier chez les groupes socio-économiques défavorisés.

Pour répondre aux besoins des couches sociales autrefois exclues de l'éducation de base, l'École Juan Luis Vives a conçu, avec l'agrément du ministère de l'Éducation et l'appui financier de l'État, le programme Alphabétiser les personnes privées de liberté pour mener des activités éducatives en milieu carcéral. Selon la gendarmerie chilienne, la population carcérale du pays est passée de 32.000 à 52.959 détenus de 2000 à 2015, dont 48.225 hommes et 4.734 femmes. Les études montrent des taux d'alphabétisme nettement plus faibles chez les détenus par rapport à la population générale. D'après une étude de l'Institut statistique de l'UNESCO, 25 à 40 % des prisonniers sont des analphabètes fonctionnels, dont 5 % qui ne savent ni lire ni écrire. Elle constate aussi une baisse des taux de récidive chez les prisonniers ayant suivi des programmes éducatifs de qualité en détention (UNESCO, 1995).

Présentation du programme

Alphabétiser les personnes privées de liberté est un programme d'éducation en milieu carcéral qui cible les détenus des deux sexes des établissements pénitentiaires des régions de Rancagua, Casablanca et Valparaiso. Il a été conçu en 1999 par l'École Juan Luis Vives, après autorisation du Service national de la gendarmerie à s'établir dans les prisons. Il a pour objectif principal d'offrir aux détenus diverses activités éducatives, qui vont des cours d'alphabétisation et de numératie aux cours académiques menant à un diplôme du secondaire. Le programme insiste en particulier sur l'alphabétisation, qui habilite les détenus à mieux s'exprimer, communiquer avec les autres et renforcer leur estime personnelle.

Le programme est reconnu par le ministère de l'Éducation du Chili. Le curriculum officiel du gouvernement sert uniquement de point de référence, les enseignants étant tenus d'adapter les supports et les méthodes d'enseignement à la situation des apprenants, en l'occurrence à la vie carcérale.

En plus de l'alphabétisation, les détenus tirent divers bienfaits de leurs cours. Ils peuvent notamment obtenir une attestation de réussite et bénéficier éventuellement d'une réduction de peine.

Buts et objectifs

Alphabétiser les personnes privées de liberté a pour but principal de traduire le droit d'apprendre, facteur essentiel du développement humain, en actes pour tous les détenus. Le programme se fixe aussi d'autres buts et objectifs :

Image

Mise en œuvre du programme

Le programme intervient dans trois localités, à savoir les prisons de Valparaiso et Rancagua et le centre de détention provisoire de Casablanca. Le programme a démarré en 1999 à Valparaiso et Casablanca. En 2006, l'École a été conviée à dispenser des cours dans la prison de Rancagua dont la population, composée en grande partie de ruraux, connaît des problèmes d'alphabétisme. Les cours d'alphabétisation durent dix mois, de mars à décembre. Ils sont dispensés cinq fois par semaine à raison de deux heures par jour. Les classes regroupent quelques apprenants, dont le nombre est prédéterminé en partie par les besoins et les niveaux d'aptitude des détenus et en partie par les règles de l'établissement. Les effectifs varient de trois à quinze apprenants au maximum.

Recrutement et formation des enseignants

Employés à temps plein ou partiel, les enseignants doivent avoir un diplôme universitaire d'enseignement général. Ils enseignent l'alphabétisation et la numératie et sont tenus d'observer les principes de l'École Juan Luis Vives, qui reconnaît la diversité culturelle et les droits humains, et d'être sensibles à la situation particulière des détenus.

Avant leur recrutement, les enseignants doivent présenter un casier judiciaire vierge et prouver qu'aucun membre de leur famille ne purge une peine de prison. Les lois et règlements des prisons leur sont expliqués avant la signature du contrat. Les enseignants travaillant en milieu carcéral sont tenus de respecter les règles établies par la gendarmerie, notamment les horaires et la sécurité interne de l'institution. Autrement dit, leur emploi du temps doit tenir compte des autres événements planifiés, tels que les transferts, les rencontres avec les avocats et les visites familiales. Le rôle de l'enseignant se limite à sa fonction éducative. Il n'est autorisé à donner aucune instruction relative à un autre domaine d'activité ni à commercer avec les étudiants.

Une fois que les enseignants commencent à travailler avec les détenus, un mentor leur est assigné pour les superviser et les guider durant les premières semaines. Les mentors sont des éducateurs expérimentés en enseignement carcéral.

Dans le but de doter les enseignants des connaissances et compétences requises pour travailler avec des prisonniers, l'École organise diverses formations, dispensées une fois par semestre. Celles-ci couvrent aussi bien l'enseignement et l'instruction (y compris des aspects comme l'évaluation des apprenants, l'acquisition de compétences cognitives, etc.) que les lois et règlements de la prison. Au Chili, la formation des enseignants est confiée à des organisations agréées par l'État et porte spécialement sur l'éducation des enfants et des jeunes. C'est pourquoi l'École Juan Luis Vives organise une formation en interne et offre aux enseignants l'occasion de partager leurs expériences sur le thème spécifique de la formation. Pour les lois et règlements carcéraux, la formation est dispensée par le personnel de la Gendarmerie nationale du Chili.

Recrutement des apprenants

Le programme n'est pas obligatoire. La participation est volontaire. Les trois établissements proposent une réduction de peine afin d'inciter les détenus à s'inscrire et à suivre les cours. La peine peut être réduite d'un certain nombre de mois en fonction de la participation au cours. Par exemple, pour deux semestres de cours, la peine est réduite de deux mois.

Contenu du programme

Axé sur l'alphabétisation et la numératie, le programme couvre les matières suivantes :

Langue et communication

Ce cours apprend aux détenus à lire et à écrire, mais aussi à communiquer et à exprimer leurs idées par écrit et oralement. Il comporte trois composantes :

Initiation aux mathématiques

Les apprenants sont initiés à la numératie afin de pouvoir intégrer la vie quotidienne et de s'autonomiser. Entre autres, ils apprennent les aspects suivants : nombres entiers, position numérique, système décimal, addition, soustraction, multiplication, division, notions de géométrie, utilisation d'une calculatrice, systèmes métriques et monétaires, lecture et interprétation d'informations présentées sous forme de tableaux et de graphiques. Les exercices s'inspirent d'activités de la vie courante, telles que les achats et les transactions bancaires.

Supports et méthodes d'enseignement

Les besoins des apprenants et les conditions carcérales sont pris en compte au moment d'élaborer les supports d'enseignement et de choisir les méthodes et approches à adopter. Les alphabétiseurs conçoivent leurs supports de cours en collaboration avec la cellule technique pédagogique de l'École Juan Luis Vives. Il est important d'adapter le contenu aux réalités quotidiennes des apprenants. Chaque cours doit refléter les valeurs de l'École et engendrer l'espoir et l'optimisme en vue d'aider à rétablir la confiance des apprenants en leurs potentialités et de les encourager à poursuivre leur éducation. Compte tenu du contexte du programme et de la culture carcérale, les enseignants choisissent le contenu avec soin et y intègrent des thèmes passionnants, susceptibles de motiver les apprenants et de pérenniser leur intérêt. Ils essaient de dispenser un apprentissage pertinent par rapport au séjour carcéral des détenus. Par exemple, si un détenu purge une peine de dix ans, on l'informe généralement qu'il a droit à certains avantages après trois quarts de sa peine, tels qu'un jour de sortie, puis une semaine, etc. Toutefois, certains détenus ne jouissent pas de ces avantages parce qu'ils ne comprennent pas les fractions ou ont perdu la notion de temps. Par des exercices de mathématique, les enseignants s'efforcent de leur expliquer le temps en termes de fractions. En outre, les apprenants doivent remplir un formulaire pour demander une visite familiale ou un transfert. Les enseignants se servent de cet exemple pour leur enseigner comment formuler des requêtes par écrit.

Les supports éducatifs sont constitués de cahiers, de crayons, de stylos, de règles, de carton et de colle. En outre, les enseignants utilisent des revues, des catalogues, des dessins, des illustrations, des vidéos, des films, des poèmes, des tableaux et d'autres supports choisis conformément aux lois et règlements de la prison. Les technologies de l'information et de la communication sont utilisées occasionnellement, et l'école envisage de les intégrer afin de favoriser leur usage constant en classe.

Les effectifs sont réduits, comme l'exigent les conditions de vie en prison. Cela favorise également un rythme plus souple et une approche d'apprentissage tournée vers l'apprenant, qui jouit d'un soutien individuel accru de l'enseignant.

Évaluation des apprenants

Les progrès des apprenants sont évalués à travers des exercices et des devoirs individuels, préparés par les enseignants. Des rapports basés sur les évaluations individuelles et l'assiduité sont envoyés au ministère de l'Éducation, qui délivre une attestation aux admis. Cela leur permet de passer au niveau supérieur, que l'École Juan Luis Vives propose également dans l'établissement. L'attestation délivrée à la fin d'un niveau d'études n'indique pas que les apprenants l'ont obtenue en milieu carcéral.

L'environnement d'apprentissage en prison

Les locaux destinés à l'éducation varient selon les établissements pénitentiaires.

Au début, la prison de Valparaiso organisait les cours dans une petite classe, à proximité de l'espace commun où les autres détenus faisaient du sport, mangeaient, travaillaient et, parfois, se querellaient. Le bruit dérangeait les apprenants, et il était difficile d'y enseigner. L'École Juan Luis Vives a décidé de construire, sur fonds propres, une petite école dans un endroit isolé. Elle compte deux salles de classe et une cuisine, également utilisée pour les ateliers. Les apprenants s'y sentent plus à l'aise car les classes se tiennent à l'écart des autres activités. Les détenus n'éprouvent aucune gêne à suivre un cours d'alphabétisation de base. La prison accueille des détenus des deux sexes. Quarante-huit hommes et onze femmes participent aux cours.

Rancagua est une nouvelle prison. Chacune de ses unités compte trois salles de classe équipées. Il s'agit d'un établissement mixte, même si les hommes sont séparés des femmes. Actuellement, soixante-dix-sept prisonniers et neuf prisonnières participent à son programme d'éducation.

Le centre de détention provisoire de Casablanca est une très petite unité. Il compte deux réfectoires remplissant les conditions d'une salle de classe. Il est réservé aux hommes, dont cinq suivent des cours en ce moment.

Le personnel pénitentiaire a une attitude positive envers l'éducation en milieu carcéral, puisqu'elle favorise la réhabilitation des détenus. Il est chargé de conduire les apprenants en classe, où les attend l'enseignant. Ensuite, celui-ci se charge gérer la situation, sans aucune interférence du personnel.

Impact et défis

Impact

L'impact le plus significatif du programme est probablement le fait qu'il s'adresse à des prisonniers qui, du fait de leur réclusion, sont incapables d'accéder à l'éducation dans un autre endroit. Beaucoup arrivent en prison avec une éducation déficiente et bénéficient de l'apprentissage pendant leur séjour carcéral. Pour l'institution organisatrice, l'École Juan Luis Vives, « l'éducation doit être accessible à tous, indépendamment de la couleur, de l'origine ou de la condition sociale ».

En seize ans de présence dans la prison de Valparaiso, le programme a éduqué 1.418 détenus, dont 690 ont achevé avec succès le cours d'alphabétisation. À la prison de Rancagua, où le programme est en cours depuis neuf ans, 1.304 détenus ont suivi le cours d'alphabétisation, que 600 ont achevé avec succès. Environ 90 % des apprenants achèvent le cours d'alphabétisation et passent au niveau supérieur pour obtenir un diplôme d'enseignement général au bout de deux ans d'études. Certains ont achevé le cycle secondaire en détention.

La privation de liberté peut souvent entraîner la dépersonnalisation et la désocialisation des détenus. Le programme cherche à influer positivement sur leur santé, leur mode de vie et leur estime personnelle. En leur proposant des activités d'apprentissage variées, il améliore leurs conditions de détention et facilite leur réinsertion sociale et leur réhabilitation. Certaines activités, telles que les cérémonies de remise de diplômes, incluent des visites familiales, qui donnent aux apprenants l'occasion de montrer leurs progrès et de recevoir leur attestation. La présence des conjoints et des enfants à l'événement motive davantage les détenus et renforce leur estime personnelle. Cette expérience aide à créer et à consolider des relations positives entre membres de la famille, un aspect particulièrement important pendant la détention, qui peut être une période éprouvante pour les détenus comme pour leur famille.

Défis

Taux d'abandon élevé

Le programme souffre d'un taux d'abandon élevé de 52 %. Souvent, les apprenants arrêtent à cause de leurs expériences d'apprentissage antérieures négatives ou de problèmes personnels. Ces obstacles peuvent affecter leur capacité et leur détermination à se concentrer sur le processus d'apprentissage. En pareilles circonstances, il leur faut un soutien psychologique ou passer plus de temps avec l'enseignant.

Enseignement d'un métier

Il serait très bénéfique pour les détenus si, en plus de l'alphabétisation et de la numératie, leur établissement leur proposait une formation professionnelle. Beaucoup n'ont pas eu accès à l'enseignement professionnel auparavant et veulent apprendre quelque chose de nouveau. Ils peuvent apprendre un métier, qui leur permettra de générer un revenu modique pendant leur séjour carcéral. Ainsi, ils découvriront les bienfaits tangibles de l'éducation et de l'effort. L'apprentissage d'un métier faciliterait aussi leur réinsertion sociale et professionnelle.

Manque de ressources

Malheureusement, par manque de ressources, l'École a du mal à relever ces défis, notamment en enseignant un métier ou en recrutant du personnel additionnel, y compris des enseignants et des psychologues. Avec le manque de ressources, il est également plus difficile de rendre le processus d'apprentissage plus intéressant et facile pour les détenus afin de réduire le taux d'abandon.

Renouvellement des effectifs

Le programme étant organisé dans un centre de détention provisoire à Casablanca, le renouvellement des effectifs est relativement élevé du fait de la relaxe ou du transfert de détenus vers d'autres prisons. Ainsi, il peut s'avérer difficile, voire impossible, pour les détenus de poursuivre leur éducation, en particulier s'ils sont transférés vers un établissement dépourvu de programme éducatif.

Gestion des émotions liées au travail en milieu carcéral

Malgré une faible rotation du personnel enseignant, certains ont du mal à gérer les émotions liées au travail en milieu carcéral. D'autres éprouvent des difficultés à travailler avec des détenus, car ils les perçoivent non seulement comme des auteurs de délits, mais aussi comme des victimes, en ce sens qu'ils sont privés de liberté.

Leçons apprises

Pérennité

Le programme compte sur le financement public pour sa pérennité. Pour continuer à bénéficier de cet appui, le programme doit se conformer aux normes fixées par le ministère de l'Éducation et respecter les règles fixées par la législation carcérale.

Sources

Contact

Sonia Alvarez Alvarez
Directrice
Juan Luis Vives School, Valparaiso, Chile
soniaa@vtr.net
juanluisvives@vtr.net

Dernière mise à jour : 21 août 2015

Alphabetizing People Deprived of Liberty

Country Profile: Chile

Population

17,620,000 (2012)

Poverty (Population living on less than 1.25 USD per day)

2% (2000 – 2007)

Total Expenditure on Education as % of GNP

4.6% (2012)

Primary School Net Enrolment/Attendance

92% (2013)

Total Youth Literacy Rate (15-24 years)

Male: 98.9%
Female: 98.9%
Total: 98.9%
(2009)

Adult Literacy Rate (15 years and over)

Male: 98.6%
Female: 98.5%
Total: 98.6%
(2009)

Official Language

Spanish

Recognised languages

Mapudungun, Quechua, Rapa Nui, Huilliche

Sources

Programme Overview

Programme TitleAlphabetizing People Deprived of Liberty
Implementing OrganizationJuan Luis Vives School
Language of InstructionSpanish
FundingGovernment of Chile
Annual Programme Costs34,740,827 CLP, equivalent to US $53,446 (2014). Annual cost per learner: 55,402 CLP, equivalent to US $85
Date of Inception1999

Country Context

Chile has achieved impressive development progress over the past two and a half decades and has successfully made the transition to democracy. After twenty years of military dictatorship, Chile has become one of the most stable and fast-developing countries in Latin America, an achievement recognized in its accession to the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) in 2010, and its 2013 classification by the World Bank as a high-income country. Emerging democracy and continuous economic development has brought more focus and greater investment to previously underfunded social services, including education. In 2009, Chile passed an Education Act which recognized not only the right to education but also learning acquired outside the education system or the workplace (UIL, 2015). Literacy and adult education issues are incorporated into Chile's legislation, which takes a lifelong learning perspective.

Public spending on education as a percentage of Chile's GDP has increased from 3% in 2006 to 4.6% in 2012. With increasing public expenditure on education, a number of programmes were launched to improve both quality and equity in the education sector, with a special focus on formal education. Despite this progress, Chile faces continuous challenges to deliver quality and attain equity at all levels of education, as well as to align skills with the needs of the labour market. The country, however, did manage to reduce the number of non-literate adults from 497,000 to 192,000 between 2002 and 2009, partly through adult literacy programmes (UIS, 2015). One of the biggest challenges for adult education is to increase the enrolment and completion rates of all adults, especially ones who belong to lower socio-economic and disadvantaged groups.

To address the educational needs of the section of the population previously excluded from basic education, Juan Luis Vives School, with accreditation from the Ministry of Education and financial the support from the state, developed the Alphabetizing People Deprived of Liberty programme to conduct educational activities inside prison institutions. According to the Chilean gendarmerie, the prison population in Chile increased from 32,000 to 52,959 between 2000 and 2015, with 48,225 male inmates and 4,734 female inmates currently in prison. Research shows that literacy rates in prisons are substantially lower than in the general population. A study from the UNESCO Institute for Education revealed that between 25% and 40% of prisoners are functionally illiterate, with 5% unable to read or write at all. Recidivism rates decrease if inmates have been engaged in quality educational programmes during their imprisonment (UNESCO, 1995).

Programme Overview

Alphabetizing People Deprived of Liberty is an in-prison education programme which targets both men and women serving sentences in penitentiary institutions in the regions of Rancagua, Casablanca and Valparaiso. The programme was developed in 1999 by Juan Luis Vives School, after it received permission from the National Gendarmerie Service to locate itself within prison grounds. The central objective of the programme is to provide inmates with various educational activities, ranging from literacy and numeracy courses to academic courses for credit towards a high school diploma. Special focus is put on the acquisition of literacy since the programme builds on the premise that strong literacy skills are a tool for inmates to better express themselves, communicate with others and strengthen their self-esteem.

The programme is recognized by the Ministry of Education in Chile. The curriculum developed by the ministry is used only as a reference point, and teachers are required to adapt materials and teaching methods to fit learners' reality, which is, in this case, prison life.

Apart from the acquisition of literacy skills, there are other benefits to inmates from attending the literacy course. These include obtaining the certificate of completion, and the possibility of having their sentence reduced.

Aims and Objectives

The primary aim of Alphabetizing People Deprived of Liberty is to make the right to learn, which is key to human development, a reality for men and women serving prison sentences. Other aims and objectives of the programme are to:

Image

Programme Implementation

The programme operates from three different locations: the prisons of Valparaiso and Rancagua, and a remand centre in Casablanca. The programme was first implemented in 1999 in Valparaiso and Casablanca. In 2006, the school was invited to teach classes in Rancagua prison, the population of which includes many people from rural areas, a large proportion of whom struggle with literacy. Literacy courses last for ten months, from March to December. Learners attend classes five times per week, for two hours each day. A small number of learners attend each class, their number partly predetermined by the literacy needs and ability levels of learners, partly by the rules of the institution. Class sizes range from three to a maximum of fifteen learners.

Recruitment and Training of Teachers

Teachers are employed on a paid part-time or full-time basis and must hold a university degree in basic general education. They not only teach literacy and numeracy but are also expected to observe the principles of Juan Luis Vives School, which acknowledges cultural diversity and human rights, and to be sensitive to the specific situation of inmate learners.

Before they are appointed, teachers must present proof of a clean criminal record, and evidence that none of their family members is currently serving a prison sentence. Prison rules and regulations are explained to the teachers before they sign the contract. Teachers working in prison are required to respect the rules established by the gendermerie, including respect for prison schedules and for the institution's internal security. This means scheduling classes to fit in around other scheduled events, such as prison transfers, meetings with lawyers and family visits. The teacher's role is limited to their educational function. He/she is not allowed to give instruction related to any other activities and should not trade with students.

Once teachers start working with inmate learners, they are assigned a mentor who supervises them and guides them for the first couple of weeks. The mentors are teachers with more experience of teaching in prison.

In order to provide teachers with the knowledge and skills they need to work with prisoners, the school organizes several training courses, delivered once per semester. The training sessions cover not only teaching and instruction (including topics such as learners' evaluation, development of cognitive skills, etc), but also the rules and regulations of the prison. In Chile, state-accredited organizations provide training for teachers, but their training is focused on topics specifically related to the education of children and young people. For that reason, Juan Luis Vives School organizes its training internally, and gives teachers the opportunity to share their experiences with regard to the specific topic of the training. Training sessions focused on prison rules and regulations are provided by staff of the National Gendarmerie of Chile.

Enrolment of Learners

The programme is not mandatory and inmates voluntarily enrol in the classes. All three institutions offer a reduction in sentence as an incentive to encourage inmates to enrol and attend classes. When inmates attend, their prison sentence can be reduced for a certain number of months. For example, if they attend classes for two semesters, their sentence will be reduced by two months.

Programme Content

Focusing on literacy and numeracy, the programme covers the following course topics:

Language and communication

On this course, learners are taught to read and write, and to communicate and express their ideas in written and oral form. The course has three components:

Mathematical studies

Learners are taught basic numeracy skills, to help them to function in everyday life and make them self-sufficient. Examples of topics covered in class include: whole numbers, place value, the decimal system, addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, the basics of geometry, using a calculator, the metric and monetary systems, and reading and interpreting information presented in tables and graphs. Exercises are created to reflect real-world activities, such as shopping and banking.

Teaching Material and Methods

Learners' needs and the circumstances of the prison are taken into account when developing teaching materials and choosing which methods and approaches to adopt. Literacy and numeracy teachers develop the material for their classes in cooperation with Juan Luis Vives School's pedagogical technical unit. It is important that teaching content is adjusted to fit the reality of learners' lives. Every lecture needs to reflect the School's values, and engender hope and optimism in order to help rebuild learners' confidence in their own potential and encourage them to continue with their education. Taking into account the prison context and culture in which the programme takes place, teachers carefully select the content and incorporate engaging topics which will motivate and sustain learners' interest. Teachers try to make learning relevant for inmates while they are in prison. For example, if an inmate is serving a ten-year sentence, he/she is usually informed that after three-quarters of their served sentence, they are eligible for certain benefits, such as leaving the prison for a day, then for a week, and so on. However, some inmates do not claim these benefits because they do not understand fractions, or have lost their sense of time. Through mathematical exercises, teachers try to explain time in terms of fractions. Furthermore, if inmate learners wish to request a family visit, or a transfer, they need to fill out the form. Teachers use this example to teach learners how to make requests in written form.

Educational material includes copybooks, pencils, pens, rulers, cardboard and glue. Apart from that, teachers also use magazines, catalogues, drawings, illustrations, videos, movies, poetry, flipcharts and other useful material, selected in accordance with prison rules and regulations. Information and communications technologies are occasionally used, and the school plans to integrate them to allow constant use when inside a classroom.

Classes are small in size, as the circumstances of prison life require. This also allows for a more flexible pace and a learner-oriented approach to teaching, with teachers dedicating more attention to each learner.

Assessment of Learners

The learning progress of learners is assessed through exercises and individual tests, created by the teachers. Reports based on individual evaluations and learners' attendance are sent to the Ministry of Education, and successful learners receive a certificate of completion. This allows learners to continue to the next level of education, also offered by Juan Luis Vives School within the institution. The certificate that learners receive upon completion of a certain level does not indicate that they have obtained it within a prison setting.

The Learning Environment in Prison

The facilities provided for educational purposes differ in each institution.

At first, classes at Valparaiso prison were held in a small classroom near the common area where other inmates played sports, ate, worked and sometimes quarreled. The noise was distracting for learners, and it was difficult to teach. Juan Luis Vives School, using its own resources, decided to build a small school in a different location apart from the other activities. The school has two classrooms and a kitchen, which is also used for workshops. Learners feel more comfortable here because the classrooms are removed from the other activities. Inmates do not need to feel embarrassed because they are attending a basic literacy course. The prison hosts both male and female inmates. There are forty-eight male inmates and eleven female inmates currently enrolled in classes.

Rancagua is a newly built prison. In each of the units, there are three equipped classrooms. The prison hosts both male and female inmates, though they are housed separately. Currently, there are seventy-seven male and nine female inmates enrolled in the education programme in Rancagua prison.

The remand centre in Casablanca is a very small unit. It has two dining rooms that meet the conditions for classes. It hosts only male inmates, and there are currently five enrolled in classes.

The attitude of the prison staff towards in-prison education is positive, since education contributes to the rehabilitation of the inmates. The prison staff have to lead learners to the classroom where the teacher awaits them. Once the learners are in the classroom, the teacher is in charge, and there is no interference from prison staff.

Impact and Challenges

Impact

Perhaps the most significant impact of the programme is that it reaches out to prisoners who are, because of their confinement, unable to access education elsewhere. Many people enter prison with educational deficits and could benefit from learning while incarcerated. The organizing institution, Juan Luis Vives School, believes that "education should be for all people regardless of their color or origin, and whatever their condition is".

In sixteen years working at Valparaiso prison, the programme has engaged 1,418 inmate learners, 690 of whom have successfully completed the literacy course. At Rancagua prison, where the programme has been running for nine years, 1,304 inmate learners have enrolled, with 600 successfully completing the literacy course. Approximately 90% of learners who complete the literacy course, advance to a higher level of education in order to obtain the general basic education qualification, which takes an additional two years. Some of them have completed their high school education while in prison.

Deprivation of liberty can often lead to the depersonalization and desocialization of inmates. The programme aims to have a positive impact on their health, lifestyle and self-esteem. Engaging inmates in various learning activities, the programme has improved the conditions of imprisonment and contributes to inmates" resocialization and rehabilitation. Certain activities, such as the graduation ceremony, involve family visits, and learners have the opportunity to present their progress and receive their certificate of completion. Spouses and children attend the ceremony, which further motivates inmate learners and increases their self-esteem. This experience helps to build and maintain positive relationships among family members, which is especially important during periods of imprisonment, which can be challenging for both inmates and their families.

Challenges

High drop-out rate

The programme's drop-out rate is high at 52%. Often, learners drop out of the programme because of their previous negative experiences of learning or because of personal issues that burden them. These obstacles can hinder learners' ability and motivation to focus their attention on the learning process. In such cases, learners may require the assistance of psychologists, or need to spend more time with the teacher.

Teaching an occupation

It would greatly benefit inmate learners if, as well as having access to literacy and numeracy learning, their institution offered vocational education. Many learners have not had access to vocational education before and would be interested in learning something new. In this way, inmates can learn a certain occupation, allowing them to generate a small income, even while serving their sentence. It is at this point that learners can experience tangible benefits of their education and hard work. Learning an occupation would also facilitate their reintegration into society and the labour market on release.

Lack of resources

Unfortunately, because of a lack of resources, the school finds it difficult to respond to these issues, by, for example, teaching an occupation, or hiring more staff, including both teachers and psychologists. Limited resources also make it more difficult to make the learning process more interesting and easier for inmates, and so help reduce the drop-out rate.

Inmate turnover

As the programme in Casablanca is organized in a remand prison the turnover of inmates is quite high, due to their release or transfer to other prisons. Consequently, it can be difficult or impossible for inmates to continue their education, particularly if they are transferred to a prison where education is not offered.

Dealing with the emotions of working in prison

Even though teacher turnover is minimal, some teachers find it difficult to deal with their emotions when it comes to working in prison. Some of them struggle to work with inmates because they see them not only as perpetrators, but also as victims, in the sense that they are deprived of their freedom.

Lessons Learned

Sustainability

The sustainability of the programme depends on the funds received from the government. In order to continue receiving support, the programme must meet the standards set by the Ministry of Education and respect the rules established by prison regulation.

Sources

Contact

Ms Sonia Alvarez Alvarez
Head Teacher
Juan Luis Vives School, Valparaiso, Chile
soniaaa@vtr.net
juanluisvives@vtr.net

Last update: 21 August 2015